Victoria

Telegram CLI - not able to receive or send msg

Question

Hello - Forgive me first off as I am very new to Raspberry PI.  I just hooked everything up today and am trying to complete the initial Using Telegram CLI on the Raspberry Pi tutorial.  I have successfully registered my phone.  However, when I go to send a msg or try to get a msg from my husband's phone, nothing happens.  I have added a couple of screen shots for your view.  My ultimate goal is to be able to execute the tutorial called 'Control you Raspberry Pi using Telegram'.  However, this initial tutorial is a prerequisite.

I am working on these tutorials for a class project and am very nervous overall since I have never used a Raspberry PI or done any CLI type work.  I would appreciate any help you could provide to help me trouble-shoot my issue.

Thank you.

2018-11-17-223606_800x480_scrot.png

2018-11-17-224218_800x480_scrot.png.6efb3e46ecfb27b14edcb7d976e306dd.png.9c4c280d77146e39764fd672e9c4d5bc.png

2 answers to this question

Hi @Victoria,

I took a look into this issue and was able to get the messages sending via the two bash scripts. 

The scripts that were mentioned within the existing tutorial, however, need to be modified slightly.

In the tg.sh file you need to modify the following line,

(echo "msg $1 $2"; echo "safe_quit") | ${tgpath}/bin/telegram-cli -k tg-server.pub -W

Into

(sleep 3; echo "msg $1 $2"; echo "safe_quit") | ${tgpath}/bin/telegram-cli -k tg-server.pub -W

Additionally, the tg_photo.sh file also has the same problem, so that also needs to be adjusted as shown below.

(echo "send_photo $1 $2"; echo "safe_quit") | ${tgpath}/bin/telegram-cli -k tg-server.pub -W

Into

(sleep 3; echo "send_photo $1 $2"; echo "safe_quit") | ${tgpath}/bin/telegram-cli -k tg-server.pub -W